UEFA Champions League draw revealed

25th August 2016

The draw for the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League has been made. 

Manchester City will meet Scottish champions Celtic and manager Pep Guardiola's former club Barcelona in the Champions League group stage.

German side Borussia Monchengladbach will be the other team in Group B.

Premier League champions Leicester will play Porto, Club Brugge and FC Copenhagen in their debut campaign.

Arsenal have been drawn alongside Paris St-Germain, Basel and Ludogorets, with Tottenham facing Monaco, CSKA Moscow and Bayer Leverkusen.

Spanish side Real Madrid beat neighbours Atletico on penalties in last season's final, becoming European champions for a record 11th time.

Zinedine Zidane's side meet German outfit Borussia Dortmund, Portugal's Sporting Lisbon and Legia Warsaw of Poland.

Guardiola, who replaced Manuel Pellegrini at the end of last season, is Barcelona's most successful boss, leading the Spanish club to 14 major trophies between 2008 and 2012.

He helped the Catalans, who are five-time European champions, win the Champions League in 2009 and 2011.

After leaving the Nou Camp, the former Spain midfielder took charge of German side Bayern Munich and lost to his previous side in the 2014-15 Champions League semi-finals

As well as facing Barcelona for a third time in four seasons, City also return to Monchengladbach, whom they beat home and away in last season's group stage.

Meanwhile, reigning English champion Leicester City face Portuguese champions Porto, who have reached the group stage for a sixth successive season, Belgian title winners Club Brugge and Danish champions FC Copenhagen.

Brugge are competing in the group stage for the first time since 2005-06, while Copenhagen are 81st in Uefa's club rankings.

UEFA Champions League Groups: 

Group A: Paris St-Germain (France), Arsenal (England), Basel (Switzerland), Ludogorets (Bulgaria).

Group B: Benfica (Portugal), Napoli (Italy), Dynamo Kiev (Ukraine), Besiktas (Turkey).

Group C: Barcelona (Spain), Manchester City (England), Borussia Monchengladbach (Germany), Celtic (Scotland).

Group D: Bayern Munich (Germany), Atletico Madrid (Spain), PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands), Rostov (Russia).

Group E: CSKA Moscow (Russia), Bayer Leverkusen (Germany), Tottenham (England), Monaco (France).

Group F: Real Madrid (Spain), Borussia Dortmund (Germany), Sporting Lisbon (Portugal), Legia Warsaw (Poland).

Group G: Leicester City (England), Porto (Portugal), Club Brugge (Belgium), FC Copenhagen (Denmark).

Group H: Juventus (Italy), Sevilla (Spain), Lyon (France), Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia).

Key dates

  • 13-14 September - First round of group matches
  • 6-7 December - Final round of group matches
  • 14-15/21-22 February - Round of 16, first leg
  • 7-8/14-15 March - Round of 16, second leg
  • 11-12 April - Quarter-finals, first leg
  • 18-19 April - Quarter-finals, second leg
  • 2-3 May - Semi-finals, first leg
  • 9-10 May - Semi-finals, second leg
  • 3 June - Final (Cardiff)
« Back to News

Back To Fixtures