Guild of Beer Writers publishes shortlist for Annual Awards 2018

6th November 2018

The British Guild of Beer Writers has shortlisted 35 writers, journalists and bloggers in its Annual Awards. The winners and runners up in nine categories as well as the overall Beer Writer of the Year and Brewer of the Year will be unveiled at the Guild's Annual Awards presentation and dinner on 22 November.

The finalists were selected by judges Amy Bryant, food editor at The Telegraph; James Cuthbertson, MD of Dark Star Brewery and founder of the Beer & Cider Marketing Awards; Stu McKinlay, co-founder of Yeastie Boys; Jenn Merrick, founder of Earth Station Brewery; Mark Taylor, Bristol-based food and drink writer, and Zoe Wood, retail correspondent at The Guardian.  The current Beer Writer of the Year, Adrian Tierney-Jones, chaired the panel.

Judges read, viewed and listened to some 140 entries which included books, newspaper and magazine articles, both printed and online, as well as blogs, radio broadcasts and podcasts.

Tierney-Jones said: "Whittling the large field of high quality entries down to a shortlist was a challenge and everyone on it should be proud of having reached this stage.

"We were especially pleased to see a good number of entries to the Best Writer about Pubs, a new category for this year.  The best entrants in all categories demonstrated a sure grasp of their subject, coupled with a talent for storytelling, whether they did this through books, press articles, blog posts or videos.

"The quality, breadth of topics covered and diversity of media used by our finalists shows that writing about beer and pubs is indeed in good health.  We look forward to toasting all our shortlisted writers, and announcing the winners, at our awards dinner."

The dinner will be held at the Chelsea Harbour Hotel on 22 November. Guests enjoy a four-course dinner with beers matched to each course, beers before and after the meal.

Guild members, both individual and corporate, and non-Guild members, are welcome to attend, more detail can be found at Annual Awards Dinner


Long Live the Local Award for Best Writer about Pubs (new award)

  • Boak & Bailey
  • Jeff Evans
  • Nigel Huddleston
  • Emma Inch
  • Bob Jeffrey

Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

  • Oli Carter-Esdale
  • Oli Haydon
  • Brian Jacobs
  • Martin Oates
  • David Pickersgill

St Austell Brewery Award for Best Young Beer Writer

  • James Beeson
  • Joseph Dick
  • Rebecca Pate
  • Katie Taylor
  • Eoghan Walsh

Guild Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer

  • Claire Bullen
  • Richard Croasdale
  • Mark Dredge
  • Jonny Garrett
  • Will Hawkes
  • Joe Stange & Tim Webb

Guild Award for Best Beer Writer - Corporate Communications

  • B52
  • Old Sawley Brewing Co
  • Roosters Brewery

Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator - Online

  • Boak & Bailey
  • Melissa Cole
  • Matt Curtis
  • Oli Haydon
  • Emma Inch
  • Ben Richards

Fuller's London Pride Award for Best Beer Writer -  Trade Media

  • Sophie Atherton
  • James Beeson
  • Matt Curtis
  • Susanna Forbes
  • Will Hawkes
  • Daniel Woolfson

Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer -  Regional Media

  • Susan & Judith Boyle
  • Tomm Carroll
  • Alastair Gilmour

 Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer - National Media

  • Boak & Bailey
  • Christopher Barnes
  • Claire Bullen
  • Melissa Cole
  • Mark Dredge
  • Nada Farhoud
  • Emma Inch

Brewer of the Year

For this Award, Guild members nominated brewers and then voted for the winner.

  • Sophie de Ronde, Burnt Mill Brewing
  • Fergus Fitzgerald, Adnams
  • John Keeling, recently retired from Fuller Smith & Turner
  • Ross O'Hara, Greene King
  • Jaega Wise, Wild Card Brewery

Pictured: Winners of the Guild of Beer Writers Awards 2017

« Back to News

Back To Fixtures