Guild of Beer Writers launches annual competition

13th June 2016

Entries are now open for the British Guild of Beer Writers' Awards 2016, with a total prize fund of £12,000 to be presented later this year to the winning journalists, broadcasters, bloggers and other communicators whose writing about our national drink is judged the best.

Entries and nominations are invited between now and 9 September to any of the competition's nine categories and will be judged on how well they further the Guild's mission "to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs".

Judges this year include Dave Myers - one half of the ‘Hairy Bikers' TV chefs duo; Rebecca Smithers, consumer affairs correspondent at The Guardian; Kate Nicholls, chief executive of the Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers and Roger Ryman, head brewer at St Austell Brewery. Last year's Beer Writer of the Year, Breandán Kearney, chairs the panel.

Guild chairman Tim Hampson said, "It has been a delight to watch the surge in beer writing and broadcasting over recent years, which has mirrored the growth in brewery numbers and beer styles. As more media outlets devote more column inches and airtime to beer and pubs, the Guild's role in promoting informed and engaging communication about our national drink has never been more important.

"We are excited to be embarking on our annual awards which not only reward those who excel in their field, but help to raise the profile of beer and pubs among mainstream media and the wider public.

"We are, as always, grateful to our sponsors. Their generosity makes possible the competition and the awards dinner which we are confident will once again be one of the most popular events on the drinks industry's calendar."

Entries and nominations - from fellow writers, publishers or friends - are invited for nine categories. Each carries a prize of £1,000 for the winner and £500 for the runner-up, with the exception of the Corporate Communications category, where entries are submitted by companies rather than individuals and the winner receives a trophy.

  • Molson Coors Award for Best Beer Writer - National Media

  • Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer - Regional Media

  • Fuller's 1845 Award for Best Beer Writer - Trade Media

  • Caledonian Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator - Online

  • Shepherd Neame Classic Collection Award for Best Beer and Food Writer

  • Badger Ales Award for Best Young Beer Writer

  • There's A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

  • St Austell Brewery Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer

  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer - Corporate Communications

The category winners and runners-up will be unveiled at the British Guild of Beer Writers annual awards dinner in December, as well as the overall Beer Writer of the Year, who receives the Michael Jackson Gold Tankard Award. The Guild also bestows the Brewer of the Year title on one brewer at the same event.

Full details of all nine categories in the Awards, entry forms and guidance notes, can be found on the British Guild of Beer Writers website, click here.

Entries must be received by the closing date of Friday 9 September, and must have been published between 1 September 2015 and 31 August 2016.

Pictured: Breandán Kearney, the reigning Beer Writer of the Year, who will chair this year's Awards panel

« Back to News

Back To Fixtures