BDO Darts World Championship switches to Eurosport and Quest

4th January 2019

The 42nd edition of the BDO World Darts Championships begins on January 5, as darts fans look forward to nine days of exciting sport.

This tournament will be broadcast live from the Lakeside Club on Frimley Green by Eurosport and Quest, with Eurosport having signed a three-year, nine-competition deal with the BDO earlier this year.

The event runs from Saturday, January 5 till Sunday, January 13 at the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green, Surrey. The quarter-finals of both the men’s and women’s events are on January 11, the semi-finals on January 12 and the finals on Sunday, January 13.

A memorable men’s final in 2018 saw Englishman Glen Durrant picking up the £100,000 prize after narrowly beating Mark McGeeney, to retain his world title.

Other players to watch in 2019 include Adam Smith-Neale, who recently won the Winmau World Masters, and former World Champions Scott Waites and Scott Mitchell.

Meanwhile, former PDC major finalists Andy Hamilton and Wes Newton have crossed from the rival organisation and could make a major impact this year.

And the women's competition is likely to be just as exciting. After winning the thrilling final in 2018 against Anastasia Dobromyslova, four-time winner Lisa Ashton will be aiming to make it three in a row.

First round draw

Saturday 5 January

1pm – Mark McGeeney (ENG) v Derk Telnekes (NED)

2.15pm – Jim Widmayer (USA) v Nigel Heydon (ENG)

3.30pm – Lisa Ashton (ENG) v Mikuru Suzuki (JPN)

4pm – Martin Phillips (WAL) v Conan Whitehead (ENG)


7pm – Paul Hogan (ENG) v Wesley Newton (ENG)

8.15pm – Sharon Prins (NED) v Roz Bulmer (ENG)

8.45pm – Mal Cuming (AUS) v Justin Thompson (AUS)

10pm – Wesley Harms (NED) v Tony O’Shea (ENG)

Sunday 6 January


1pm – Scott Waites (ENG) v Jeffrey Van Egdom (BEL)

2.15pm – Brian Lokken (DEN) v Krzysztof Kciuk (POL)

3.30pm – Deta Hedman (ENG) v Maria O’Brien (ENG)

4pm – Richard Veenstra (NED) v Jim Widmayer (USA)/Nigel Heydon (ENG)


7pm – Roger Janssen (BEL) v Wouter Vaes (NED)

8.15pm – Fallon Sherrock (ENG) v Corrine Hammond (AUS)

8.45pm – Mark McGrath (NZL) v Adam Smith-Neale (ENG)

10pm – Wayne Warren (WAL) v Mark Layton (WAL)

Monday 7 January


1pm – David Cameron (CAN) v Andy Hamilton (ENG)

2.15pm – Oliver Ferenc (SBR) v Ryan Hogarth (SCO)

3.30pm – Willem Mandigers (NED) v Paul Hogan (ENG)/Wesley Newton (ENG)


7pm – Michael Unterbuchner (GER) v Mal Cuming (AUS)/Justin Thompson (AUS)

8.15pm – Anastasia Dobromyslova (RUS) v Laura Turner (ENG)

8.45pm – Jim Williams (WAL) v Roger Janssen – (BEL)/Wouter Vaes (NED)

10pm – Daniel Day (ENG) v Dean Reynolds (WAL)

Tuesday 8 January


1pm – Dave Parletti (ENG) v Brian Lokken (DEN)/Krzysztof Kciuk (POL)

2.15pm – Scott Mitchell (ENG) v Oliver Ferenc (SRB)/Ryan Hogarth (SCO)

3.30pm – Aileen De Graaf (NED) v Paula Jacklin (ENG)

4pm – Ross Montgomery (SCO) v Scott Baker (ENG)


7pm – Glen Durrant (ENG) v Mark McGrath (NZL)/Adam Smith-Neale (ENG)

8.15pm – Lorraine Winstanley (ENG) v Casey Gallagher (ENG)

8.45pm – Chris Landman (NED) v Kyle McKinstry (NIR)

10pm – Gary Robson (ENG) v David Cameron (CAN)/Andy Hamilton (ENG)

Wednesday 9 January


2.45pm – Trina Gulliver MBE (ENG) v Karolina Podgorska (POL)

Live coverage from Saturday, January 5 to Sunday, January 13 on Eurosport and Quest


« Back to News

Back To Fixtures